Many people are receiving false "new personal message" notifications.
This is either because of a software fault, or someone hacking the system. More likely the latter.
I'm working on it.
If the emails are too much of a nuisance, go to your profile and turn off "Notify on new Private Message". That might fix it, but I haven't tested it.
If you do in fact have a new personal message, you will be informed in the link at the top of the forum.
Problem with "New personal message" notifications
-
Kevin Solway
- Posts: 2766
- Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2001 8:43 am
- Location: Australia
- Contact:
Problem with "New personal message" notifications
Last edited by Kevin Solway on Sun Dec 03, 2006 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I got a similar Private Message email from http://www.toequest.com/forum/
and there was no such new message.
Our Berty hasn't been playing up I hope, cause I noticed this on that forum.
"Welcome to our newest member, Bert"
and there was no such new message.
Our Berty hasn't been playing up I hope, cause I noticed this on that forum.
"Welcome to our newest member, Bert"
- Dan Rowden
- Posts: 5740
- Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 8:03 pm
- Contact:
-
Elizabeth Isabelle
- Posts: 3771
- Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:35 am
Kevin,
Is it really a glitch? We've had a lot of advertisers posting, and I've noticed that as new advertisers arrive, their accounts are being banned off the member list. If an advertiser comes on and starts sending pms of ads to people, and the ad generates a notification email to our regular email account, and the person gets banned before the pm is recieved - what happens to the pm?
It seems to me that the pm stays in our outbox until the person retrieves it - so if the account is deleted, wouldn't everything in their outbox also be deleted, even though the notification email had already been sent?
Just a theory.
Is it really a glitch? We've had a lot of advertisers posting, and I've noticed that as new advertisers arrive, their accounts are being banned off the member list. If an advertiser comes on and starts sending pms of ads to people, and the ad generates a notification email to our regular email account, and the person gets banned before the pm is recieved - what happens to the pm?
It seems to me that the pm stays in our outbox until the person retrieves it - so if the account is deleted, wouldn't everything in their outbox also be deleted, even though the notification email had already been sent?
Just a theory.
-
Eternal_Tom
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 8:02 am
- Location: York, UK