Consciousness-without-an-object

Discussion of the nature of Ultimate Reality and the path to Enlightenment.
rebecca702

Post by rebecca702 »

Just wondering if anyone here is familiar with the work of the late Franklin Merrell-Wolff. I studied briefly with one of his students, Joel Morwood, in Oregon (author of Naked Through the Gate and director of the Center for Sacred Sciences)...

I'm going to put his little book called Aphorisms on consciousness-without-an-object in here for anyone who might be interested. My question is, after reading these and really letting them soak in, do you understand what he means by "a level of consciousness where thought and music unite"? I'm wondering if he means it like our friend Osho, who says the only reason you like music is that it transports you out of your madness and gives you a taste of meditation... ?

Anyway here it is:

Aphorisms
ON
by Franklin Merrell-Wolff

Foreword
These aphorisms belong to a level of consciousness where thought and music unite. They are seeds which may develope into a comprehensive system of philosophy while, at the same time, they are a substance bringing sustenance to the soul. It is not necessary that the reader should understand them. He should use them as focal points for meditation and permit their meaning to develop in his consciousness as a plant grows from seed. They are symbols first and concepts afterward. As concepts they illumine the way for understanding. As symbols they open the door to the realization of that Reality which cannot be felt or thought.

Aphorisms

1. Consciousness-without-an-object is.

2. Before objects were, Consciousness-without-an-object is.

3. Though objects seem to exist, Consciousness-without-an-object is.

4. When objects vanish, yet remaining through all unaffected, Consciousness-without-an-object is.

5. Outside of Consciousness-without-an-object nothing is.